Home
Hide other sections
Speech - Language
Additional Pages:
TDOE link to Speech/Language Resources
Functional Communication Checklist
Speech-Language Sample Screening Checklist Primary
Speech-Language Sample Screening Checklist Grades 1-5
Speech-Language Sample Screening Checklist Grades 6-12
Sample Speech/Language Therapy Collection Forms
Sample Speech/Language Data Collection Form

     Communication...the most important human aspect after breathing. ~Unknown

 

 

 

 Speech and Language

Jefferson County School’s speech and language personnel assess, identify, and plan programs for students with communication disabilities. Our goal is to identify student needs, support student education, and facilitate student development throughout the years.

 

The speech pathologists of Jefferson County provide direct contact services for eligible students in individual, small group, and/or classroom settings. Jefferson County’s speech/language pathologists utilize the 3:1 Integrated Therapy Model providing direct services for three (3) weeks. During the one (1) week of integrated therapy, the therapists will provide inclusion services to the children and consultative services to the classroom teachers regarding appropriate classroom modifications, instructional materials, and techniques/strategies designed to meet the unique communication needs of each eligible student.

 

The speech/language pathologist (SLP) is responsible for identifying and serving students and assisting other educators in their efforts to improve learning. Speech pathologists participate in RTI team meetings as needed. Screening language, articulation, voice, fluency, and/or hearing as requested, they provide intervention strategies and services as indicated prior to completing comprehensive evaluations. The SLPs participate in Individual Education Program (IEP) team meetings and assist the IEP team in determining eligibility for services and in designing an appropriate IEP. They may serve as Case Manager when appropriate. They prepare speech and language program services complimenting the general education curriculum and provide support for skills impacted by the student’s speech/language disability.

 

The speech/language pathologists review field tests and share information regarding new diagnostic tests, instructional materials and service delivery strategies.

   

 

Contacts:

 

 

 

Candace Craig, Rush Strong, ccraig@jcboe.net

 

 

 

Hannah Waldron, Mt. Horeb, hwaldron@jcboe.net

 

 

 

 Vanessa Green, White Pine, vgreen@jcboe.net

 

  

 

 Jennifer Cureton, Jefferson Elementary, jcureton@jcboe.net

 

 

 

Nina Payne, Talbott and Mt. Horeb npayne@jcboe.net

 

 

 

Julie Pray, New Market and Jefferson Elementary, jpray@jcboe.net

 

 

 

Vera Reneau, Dandridge, vreneau@jcboe.net

 

 

 

 

 

Anne Wharton, Head Start, Family Resource, awharton@jcboe.net

1030 TN HWY. 92 | DANDRIDGE, TN 37725 | PH: (865) 397-3194 | FX: (865) 397-3301

This site provides external links as a convenience to our users. The appearance of external hyperlinks on the Jefferson County Schools (JCS) website does not constitute endorsement by JCS of the linked websites, or the information, products or services contained therein. JCS does not exercise any editorial control over the content you may find at these locations. JCS has no control over which sites are accessible to users outside of the JCS network. JCS is committed to success and accessibility for all. Please contact us via phone or email if you have difficulty accessing content on any JCS Page.

Login